

Office of the Dean Richard Weeks Hall of Engineering 500 Bartholomew Road, Suite 405 Piscataway, NJ 08854-8099

## School of Engineering - Faculty Meeting Minutes November 8<sup>th</sup>, 2024 Richard Weeks Hall of Engineering, Room 105

*Present:* J P Antoine, S Berg, H Buettner, G Callegari, K Cameron, F Celik, Y Chen, N Corrente, A Cuitiño, V Demetracopoulou, N Fahrenfeld, Z Gajic, X Gu, N Gucunski, W Guo, Y Guo, M Jafari, Y Jaluria, P Jin, S Kilduff, L Klein, D Knight, K Labazzo, D Lambropoulos, Y Li, H Lin, H Liu, A Mazzeo, C Miller, H Najm, T Oathes, T Özel, D Ozolina, A Pelegri, H Pham, M Pierce, D Reed, A Rodriguez, C Roth, A Ruiz, A Safari, A Scacchioli, B Schuster, J Singer, P Song, M Sorensen, W Trappe, S Wei, Z Xi, J Zahn, I Zipkin.

Dean Alberto Cuitiño called the meeting to order at 2:42 pm. The minutes from the previous faculty meeting on 9/13/24 were approved.

- New Faculty:
  - CBE Chair Helen Buettner introduced Nick Corrente, joining the department as a Teaching Instructor.
- Dean's Report:
  - Dean Cuitiño thanked all involved across the School of Engineering for contributing to an outstanding ABET accreditation visit. Program evaluators assessed 8 criteria in each of 9 programs with the school receiving only two minor concerns out of 72 assessments.
  - The university reached close to \$1B in annual research expenditures. Within the school of engineering, sponsored award transactions are on par with the last fiscal year. The requested funding level for current grant submissions under review is significantly higher than last fiscal year, which may lead to strong award figures for FY26.
  - The school's annual faculty awards and recognition event will be held at 3pm on November 21<sup>st</sup> in the Weeks Hall of Engineering 2<sup>nd</sup> floor atrium. Prof. Yogesh Jaluria will receive the Faculty of the Year award, with Prof. Nicole Fahrenfeld receiving the Outstanding Faculty of the Year award.
  - The School of Engineering's Medal of Excellence Gala was held on September 26<sup>th</sup>, 2024, at Weeks Hall of Engineering, recognizing distinguished alumni in multiple categories from across the SoE community. The event was at full capacity with Dean Cuitiño presenting Michael Haberman (ENG '90) with the Medal of Excellence. Nominations for the 2025 awardees are due to Kendra Cameron by January 31<sup>st</sup>, 2025.
  - Student numbers (undergraduates):
    - In fall 2024, the school admitted its largest incoming undergraduate class with 1,146 registered students. This group has the highest SAT score of an admitted class, is more diverse (21% URM), and contains more international (9%) and out-of-state students (11%) than previous classes.
    - Applications for fall 2025 admission are 15-16% higher than at the same time last year. This increase is due to a slight increase among in-state applicants accompanied by large increases among out-of-state and international students.
  - Student numbers (graduate students):
    - The school has 870 graduate students registered in the fall 2024 semester; an 11.8% increase compared to the fall 2023 figure. This increase is largely driven by master's program enrollment.



Office of the Dean Richard Weeks Hall of Engineering 500 Bartholomew Road, Suite 405 Piscataway, NJ 08854-8099

- US News & World Report's latest rankings place Rutgers New Brunswick joint 51<sup>st</sup> for undergraduate engineering, with a "reputation score" of 3.2. This puts the school alongside Dartmouth University, Drexel University, Lehigh University, Rochester Institute of Technology, and the University of Delaware.
- At the first SoE faculty meeting of the 2025 calendar year (February 14<sup>th</sup>) we will have a more extended review of data.
- The search for Rutgers University's next president is underway to commence on July 1st, 2025.
- The School of Engineering is preparing a detailed, ambitious plan. Departments have been tasked with preparing plans with broad faculty and staff participation.
- Prof. Hao Lin will be the Director of International Programs for the School of Engineering, aimed at increasing international visibility and enrollment.
- Department Chairs:
  - Assimina Pelegri (MAE): The 13<sup>th</sup> annual Packaging Engineering career night featured 48 companies and 120 students. The department held its 10<sup>th</sup> annual Meet & Greet event to provide students with opportunities to network with leaders in industry, government, and academia.
  - Yingying Chen (ECE): The ECE department has launched the ECE Impact Awards to recognize excellence among faculty, staff, and alumni who have made significant contributions to the department's mission. A workshop honoring excellence in education was held in memory of Prof. Sophocles J Orfanidis on November 11<sup>th</sup> in the Busch Campus Center.
  - Mohsen Jafari (ISE): Farzad Yousefian is participating on a new project sponsored by the US Dept of Energy, partnering with national laboratories on "privacy-preserving federated learning" models.
  - Helen Buettner (CBE): Fernando Muzzio received an award from DARPA to lead a multiinstitutional project aimed at developing a "mobile system for GMP manufacturing of injectable products".
  - Lisa Klein (MSE): Richard Riman is a co-investigator in the DARPA-sponsored Reefense program, developing reef-mimicking concrete structures for eco-friendly shoreline protection. Ryan Sills and collaborators received an NSF GOALI award titled "Atomistic Tool for Open, Machine-Learned Identification and Characterization (ATOMIC)".
  - Nenad Gucunski (CEE): The department is partnering with Middlesex County and NJ State authorities on the DataCity Smart Mobility Testing Ground. A section of routes 27 and 18 is equipped with sensor hardware to collect data to assist development of nextgeneration advanced driving systems.
  - Charlie Roth (BME): Graduate student Rebecca Risman and faculty sponsor Kristen Labazzo received a wellness connection grant from Rutgers' ScarletWell initiative for their program "Better Me With BME". Adam Gormley is developing a large proposal to the NSF Engines program.

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 3:59 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Mark C. Pierce Secretary, Engineering Faculty